December 5, 2017 RTM Meeting Recap

DISCLAIMER: This is NOT an official town website. 

On the December 5, 2017, the Westport RTM unanimously elected Dr. Velma Heller as its moderator and unanimously reelected Jeff Wieser as deputy moderator.  The summary of the meeting can be found here.  I’ve added some details below.  One minor correction is that, rather than being reelected, this was Dr. Heller’s first election as moderator; she became the moderator last term pursuant to the pertinent procedural provisions when former moderator Eileen Lavigne Flug resigned to become the assistant town attorney.

Dr. Velma Heller has been a member of the RTM since 2001 and has served as chair of the education committee for nine years.  She was elected as deputy moderator in 2013.   Dr. Heller worked in the Westport Public School System for 30 years as a teacher, reading specialist, vice principal, and principal, among other roles.  After retiring from the Westport Public Schools, Dr. Heller’s career continued at Sacred Heart University.  She was a student teacher supervisor, an adjunct professor, and is currently a full-time member of the graduate education program.

Mr. Jeff Wieser has been a member of the RTM since 2007 and became chair of the finance committee in 2011.   Mr. Wieser graduated from Princeton University and earned an MBA from New York University.  He worked in international banking for 30 years at firms including HSBC Securities and Deutsche Bank.  Upon retiring in 2010, Mr. Wieser became the CEO of Homes for Hope.  He has also been a board member of the Westport Rotary Club and Positive Directions, and Trustee for the Westport YMCA and Earthplace.   This past June he received the First Citizen Award from the Westport Weston Chamber of Commerce.

The next RTM meeting is scheduled to take place on January 9, 2018 at 7:30 p.m.

The video below includes highlights from the nomination and election of Dr. Heller.  You can view the entire archived meeting here.

There were four members absent from the meeting: Lyn Hogan (District 3), Lisa Parelli Gray (District 4), Peter Gold (District 5), and Seth Braunstein (District 6).